2007September20, Thursday

A New Toy

Posted in My Life at 13:36 by Trey Austin

Archos PMA430Earlier this week, i bought a new toy. I came yesterday afternoon, and i’ve been playing with it ever since.

What i got was an Archos PMA430. “PMA” stands for “Personal Media Assistant.” It’s kind of like a cross between a PDA and an MP3/video player, but it can connect to the internet, read documents (including PDFs), and play games. It has a 30 GB hard drive, with about 35 MB of memory. It has a touchscreen interface that makes it easy to navigate (rather than having to navigate with arrows and buttons).

One main reason i got it was to use the recorder to record my sermons, but i also wanted something versatile enough to do lots of other fun things for me. I’m still trying to figure out all the features on it. I’m planning on getting some nice accessories to go with it to make even more functional and to make it last longer (like screen protectors to be sure the touchscreen doesn’t wear out or get scratched all up). I just wanted you all to know about my new toy, because i couldn’t be happier to have it. Don’t you all want to run out and buy yourself one today? 🙂

1 Comment »

  1. tempe said,

    Congrats on the new toy. But calling it a “Personal Media Assistant” seems a bit bourgeoisie to me. 😉 You’ll have to bring it next week!

    Actually, maybe you’ve hit upon something here. I can now go to my Session and ask for a “Personal Media Assistant.” Once they get over the initial shock of having to hire someone at a costly salary, I can inform them that it’ll only cost a few hundred bucks. It’ll seem like a bargain!


Leave a Reply

