2007July30, Monday

From What I Hear, There’s Danger in the Camp

Posted in Uncategorized at 21:15 by Trey Austin

Jon Barlow, a good friend of a couple of ministers in my presbytery while they were in seminary in St. Louis, brings to our attention a “nebulous” danger that we should all be aware of. I’m very glad that Barlow devoted some of his time on the “farm” to tell us all about this, because i don’t think that the original book was sufficiently popular to warn everyone about the danger that exists. Here’s all you need to know, from Barlow:

[kml_flashembed movie="http://youtube.com/v/TUnM9gUZdrU" width="425" height="350" wmode="transparent" /] 

BTW, an interesting side note: John Otis, the author of the book Danger in the Camp that Jon Barlow sarcastically promotes in his little clip, left the PCA back in the 80s for the RPCUS (Covenant Presbytery)—Joe Morecraft’s Church—but what is interesting is that he was a member of Westminster Presbytery (PCA), my own presbytery, when he left. Even more interesting is that his charge in Westminster Presbytery was the congregation that i currently pastor. In fact, there are only two other pastors between his tenure as pastor and my tenure as pastor. He left the congregation here and went directly into the RPCUS. Apparently, there was danger in the camp back then, as well.

8 Comments »

  1. Amber said,

    I wondered if you’d seen this- couldn’t help but think of you when I saw who the author of the book was.

  2. Trey Austin said,

    Yeah, i had heard about Pastor Otis’s book a while back. Actually, i heard the recording of the radio show where Pastor Schlissel and Pastor Otis debated issues of the Federal Vision. Pastor Schlissel was late to the radio show (anyone who has ever driven in NYC can understand why that can happen from time to time), but it was very strange for me personally. There was one of my predecessors in my pastoral charge, and then there was a man with whom i had fellowshiped in his home, and had eaten at his table. In one sense it was very far away and had nothing to do with me, but in another sense, it was very close to me. The difficulty is that i’m sympathetic to both of them for various reasons, and for me, the issues aren’t as clear-cut as many people on both sides want to make them.

    Amber, how much of Pastor Otis’s ministry here do you remember?

  3. tempe said,

    Yes, Trey, I’ve confided in you before that “odd connection” we sometimes feel in the Reformed community, such as the time I/we discovered that two former members of the church there in Coeburn, during Frank Smith’s ministry, were now part of the church plant effort down here in Cumming. Kinda weird but cool, I guess (and I’ll leave off the part about Joe M.’s church only being about 2 miles down the road as well…).

  4. Amber said,

    I don’t remember much about it, mostly that I was sad that they left. I think I was five or six then…

    Interesting connections Tempe- Maybe I’ll get the story from Trey Sunday 🙂 I have another: a friend at church here went to undergrad with Barlow. I never get tired of this game!

    btw, Lord willing, we’ll be worshipping with you Sunday. We’re looking forward to it.

  5. Trey Austin said,

    Amber, be sure to plan on staying and eating with us. We’re having a dinner after church Sunday. Ask your mom and dad to come with you. 🙂

  6. Amber said,

    I had to call Sam at work to tell him about that last comment. too funny for words. Wish we could eat with y’all too….

  7. Trey Austin said,

    I’m not sure what made it so funny. I’m perplexed. I guess calling them and inviting them myself would be out of the question? 😉

    So, is that “wish” as in, “We wish we could, but we already know we can’t”? Or is that “wish” as in, “We wish we could, and we’re going to see about it”?

    BTW, i’m hoping Jack (the barber) will actually come this Sunday. I invited him when i was getting a haircut today. I usually invite him, but he actually talked like he’d come this time. Who knows? I’m sure he would love to see one of the little girls of the church all grown up and married with children of her own.

  8. Amber said,

    “i wish” meaning, I wish we hadn’t made other plans. My heart skipped a beat when you mentioned Jack- I hadn’t thought of him in years! It would be TOO COOL if he came back.


Leave a Reply

